Soulful Christmas by Jennifer Saran

For my 598th music review, I am proud to present the perfect album for the Christmas season.  Soulful Christmas is the November 24, 2017, album by Jennifer Saran released on the Tarpan Records label.  This is my third review for this great artist with 17 Tracks which covers several styles such as soul, jazz, bluegrass, and disco as seen in such songs as Christmas Love (Featuring The Temptations), Swingin’ At Christmas Time, Soul Cake, Christmas Delight and much more.  This the best Christmas album I have heard in some time and I am impressed on how well this a release is written, performed, recorded and produced.  You can purchase this album today from Amazon, Itunes and other places where Cd’s and digital downloads are sold.



Wake To Dream by Lindsay Bellows

Wake To Dream is the October 19, 2017, debut EP by singer-songwriter Lindsay Bellows.  This album is a mixture of light-hearted folk/pop with fierce R&B vocals. This album contains five tracks Slow Steady, Wake Up, Part Life, Wild and Free and Simple Gifts, all great songs. Lindsay has a soothing voice and does justice to this album.  This release was well written, performed, recorded and produced.  This album is available on Amazon, CD Baby, and other places where CD’s and digital downloads are sold.


Grace by Lizz Wright

Lauded American singer Lizz Wright summons her Southern heritage in her latest offering Grace released September 15, 2017, on the Concord Records label.  This album is a mixture of blues, jazz, with a little soul.  In this first offering since 2015 she brings to us such great tracks as Singing In My Soul, What Would I Do Without You, the title track Grace, Stars Fell On Alabama and much more.  This album was well performed, recorded and produced.  I am looking forward to hearing some of her earlier material. You can purchase this album on Amazon, iTunes and other places where CD’s and digital downloads are sold.


With A Little Help From My Friends by Joe Cocker

With a Little Help from My Friends is the debut album by English singer Joe Cocker, released May 1969 on the A&M Records label.  The title track With A Little Help From My Friends was written by John Lennon and Paul McCartney and originally performed by the Beatles on the album Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. Also on this album were two tracks originally written and recorded by Bob Dylan, Just Like A Woman and I Shall Be Released, Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (originally recorded by The Animals), Feeling Alright and so much more.  I am very impressed with how well this album was performed recorded and produced.  This is a five-star album and a great addition to one’s record library.


An American Patriot by Sam Moore

The Legendary Soul Man Sam Moore, one half of Sam and Dave will be releasing a great album on October 6, 2017 that makes me feel good about being an American.  The album Sam Moore: An American Patriot include covers of some of most heartfelt patriotic songs such as America The Beautiful, Star Spangled Banner, God Bless America and others as well as great songs as Imagine (originally recorded by the late John Lennon), God Bless The U.S.A. (originally recorded by Lee Greenwood), What’s Going On (originally recorded by Marvin Gaye) as well as three news songs including my favorite Peace Please.  Sam’s voice is still as powerful and soulful as ever.  I highly recommend this album to your music library as it was well performed, recorded and produced.  You can purchase this album on Itunes, Amazon, and other places where CD’s and digital downloads are sold.



Greatest Hits by Earth Wind And Fire

Greatest Hits is a compilation album of American R&B group Earth, Wind & Fire. It contains several songs recorded between 1973 and 1981 and it was released on November 17, 1998 on the Columbia/Legacy Records label.  Listening to this great compilation brings so many great memories with such great tracks as September, Shining Star, Boogie Wonderland, After The Love Is Gone, and my all time favorite That’s Way Of The World.  This compilation is great from start to finish and was well performed, recorded and produced.  This is one album you would want to add to your library.


In My Head by Unknown Hero

In My Head is an upcoming album to be released on October 13, 2017 by electronic band Unknown Hero on their own label.  This album is a mixture of R&B, Hip Hop, Rock, and Funk.  I was impressed by the instrumentation on this album with such tracks as Be Alright and Close My Door which has rich vocal harmonies and piano Melodies.  Other notable tracks on this fifteen song album are Her Name, One More Day, Keep Moving Me, and much more.  The album was well written, performed, recorded and produced. This is an album you need to take a listen to.  This album will be available for purchase on itunes, bandcamp and other places where CD’s and digital downloads is available.

unknown hereo in my head


Midnight Snack by Funky AF

For my 479th review, I am proud to present Midnight Snack by Funky AF recorded in Venice Beach, California.  This album has great vocals and is versatile in styles.  For example if you took Jethro Tull and Santana and put them together you would come up with the song Crystal BallDanny Weed has a great reggae sound.  The rest of the songs on this EP have a great funky sound along with the sound that made Curtis Mayfield famous.  I am looking forward to hearing more from this great artist.  You can find this album at CD Baby and https:/


Girl On Fire by Alicia Keys

Girl On Fire is the fifth studio album by American recording artist Alicia Keys. The album, which was released on November 22, 2012, is Keys’ first release with RCA Records.  I have not listened to much of her music prior to this until I heard someone trying to do the song Girl On Fire on America’s Got Talent.  I did not care for how the song was done, but loved the song and decided to check out the original version and the album.  I am a big fan of the song Girl On Fire on this album, but not the mix.  This album also spawned the singles Brand New Me, New Day, Fire We Make, and Tears Always Win.  I was also impressed with the songs One Thing, That’s When I Knew, Listen To Your Heart and much more.  All the songs on this album were co written by Alicia.  This is the second album I have listened to by this great artist and will check out more in the future.  This release is well performed, recorded and produced by “Babyface” Edmonds.  I highly recommend this album to one’s music library.



Our Favorite Joints by The Force M. D.’S

For my 460th review, I am proud to report on the album My Favorite Joints, a fantastic album by The Force MDs, an American R&B vocal group that was formed in 1981 in Staten Island, New York and was released July 7, 2017, on Goldenlane Records and distributed by Cleopatra Records. This great band returns with their first new recordings in over 20 years!  Their vocal style and harmonies are still strong as noted in such tracks as Let’s Get It On (originally recorded by Marvin Gaye) Love and Happiness (originally recorded by Al Green) Just My Imagination (originally recorded by The Temptations), End Of The Road (originally recorded by Boyz II Men), Ain’t No Stopping Us Now (originally recorded by McFadden and Whitehead) and many others.  Two notable tracks that I have heard for the first time was People Make The World Go Round and Whip Appeal.  This is one album I can listen to over and over again and would love to hear their earlier material.  I am very impressed with how well this album was performed, recorded and produced.  If you are a fan of the older R&B, you will want to add this one to your music library.

force md