Pick Yourself Up by Jeff Hyman

Pick Yourself Up is the July 6, 2016 sophomore solo album by Los Angeles, California artist Jeff Hyman.  He is joined on the album by a large number of guest artists such as Smith Sisters Bluegrass, Tom Pritchard, Grant Maloy Smith, and so many others as this album is a mix of Americana, bluegrass, gospel, jazz, blues and country on such tracks as I’ll Fly Away, Scotch And Soda, Ain’t Hurtin Nobody, a cover of Garth Brooks classic The Dance, the title track Pick Yourself Up (written by Mary K Burke), Hearts Of Palm and much more plus Yellow Moon (featuring Laura Ainsworth).  This album with amazing vocals and instrumentation was well performed and recorded.  You can get your own copy of this release from Amazon, Bandcamp, CD Baby and other outlets where CDs and digital downloads are sold.  You can learn more about this artist and his music by going to his website http://www.jeffhymanmusic.com


16 Bars: Original Documentary Soundtrack by Various Artists

Todd “Speech” Thomas is a two-time Grammy-award winning rapper and founder of Arrested Development, a conscious hip-hop group from the ’90s. Not too long ago, he released an album, entitled, “16 Bars: Original Documentary Soundtrack”, featuring various artists performing all the basic tracks, rapping, and singing and was recorded in the Richmond City Jail in Virginia.  The rap music here is personal and conscious, in the vein of stars such as Kendrick Lamar and Tupac and features such tracks as Inspire, Lay My Burden Down, Freedom Wind, Steam Train Salvation, Two Stamps and much more. A large number of the songs on this album were performed with Teddy Kane, Garland Carr, and others.  This soundtrack was well written, recorded, performed and produced.  Even though hip hop is not my cup of tea, I know there are others out there that will love this album and will be able to pick up their own copy of this soundtrack from Amazon, Itunes and other outlets where CDs, Vinyl and digital downloads are sold on November 8, 2019, from the Lightyear Records label.


Classy, Sassy, Bluegrassy by Williamson Branch

Good Morning everyone.  I am starting my morning with a review of the album Classy, Sassy, Bluegrassy by Nashville based, Williamson Branch,  a high energy, high steppin’ show that features a fine-tuned variety of bluegrass, gospel, and country music, accentuated by world-class Appalachian clog dancing.  This album is set for release on October 25, 2019, with the Pinecastle Records label.  This band features Kevin Williamson on guitar, his wife Debbie Williamson on mandolin and vocals, daughters Melody Williamson on fiddle, Kadence Williamson on ukelele bass, and Caroline Williamson on fiddle plus Anthony Howell on banjo, mandolin, and guitar.  This twelve track album features a variety of bluegrass, gospel and country with such songs as Blue Moon Over Texas, The Ballad Of Dan And Tom (Don’t Cry), Over The Mountain, With Body And Soul, Mindy Mae and much more.  I was impressed with the performance on this album as well as it’s songwriting and recording.  This album is a must for any bluegrass fan and you can get your copy on October 25th from Amazon, their website https://williamsonbranch.com and other music outlets where CDs and digital downloads are sold.  You can also go to their website to learn more about this band and their tour schedule.