Warmer In The Winter by Lindsey Sterling

For my 621st review, I am proud to present Warmer in the Winter is the fourth studio album by violinist and composer Lindsey Stirling, released on October 20, 2017, on the Universal/Concord Records label.  This amazing violinist who came in second on this past season of Dancing With The Stars shows her many talents.  Lindsey gives her takes on such great tracks on this 13 song album as the title track Warmer In The Winter as well as Christmas standards Silent Night, Dance Of The Sugar Plum Fairy, Carol Of The Bells, Jingle Bell Rock and much more.  I have been a fan of her music for some time.  I also own her album called Shatter Me which I enjoyed very much.  I am impressed by how well this album was performed, recorded and produced.  Take a listen to this album and you will want to add this to your holiday library.



Two Hearts by Jackie Evancho

Two Hearts is a two-disc studio album by Jackie Evancho, and her 6th studio album consisting of a classical crossover disc with 10 tracks and a pop music EP with 5 tracks, including four songs on which Evancho has a songwriting credit. The album was released on March 31, 2017, on Sony Masterworks’ Portrait Records.  On this album are covers of  songs from some great movies such as May It Be (from Lord Of The Rings), The Way We Were (from The Way We Were), The Writing’s On The Wall (from James Bond Spectre), Safe & Sound (from The Hunger Games) and A Thousand Years (from  The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 1) as well as four songs that are co-written by Jackie such as Sane, Pedestal, The Haunting and Wonderland.  The rest of this album is great as well.  I was impressed by how well this album was performed, recorded and produced.


Someday At Christmas by Jackie Evancho

Someday at Christmas is American singer Jackie Evancho‘s second full-length Christmas album, and her seventh album overall, released October 28, 2016, on the Portrait Records label.  This release consists of nine previously released tracks and three new tracks, Someday at Christmas and two versions of The Little Drummer Boy, one with Il Volo.  There are great duets on this album also such as two songs sung with operatic tenor Placido Domingo which are Guardian Angels and Pie Jesu and my favorite track on this album Hallelujah featuring Peter Hollens.  I enjoyed this album from start to finish and was impressed on how well this album is performed, recorded and produced.  I highly recommend this album to your Christmas music library.


Emerson Plays Emerson by Keith Emerson

Emerson Plays Emerson is a May 13, 2002, solo album by former Emerson Lake and Palmer and the Nice keyboardist Keith Emerson released on the EMI Imports Records label. This album is a mixture of Solo Piano Collection of Emerson Originals Mixed with a Few Covers.  The versatility on this album is shown by such tracks as The Dreamer, Ballad For The Common Man, Nilu’s Dream, Soulscapes, Honky Tonk Train Blues and much more.  I was impressed on how well this album was written, performed, recorded and produced.  This album shows another side of Keith Emerson, getting away for the organ and synthesizer sounds that he has been known for. I recommend this album for anyone that is a fan of Keith Emerson and all the music that we have grown to love.


Twenty-One Years by Louis Valentine Johnson

Twenty-One Years is the latest album by the innovative acoustic guitarist Louis Valentine Johnson released in 2017.  I found this album totally relaxing and enjoyed this CD from start to finish.  My favorite tracks were Portraits, The Question, and Malaguena California!.  With me living with chronic pain, this is the perfect CD for me because music like this relaxes me and in turn lower my pain level.  If you want a cd to help you relax, whether at home or on the road, you need to check this cd out.  This album was well written, performed, and recorded. You can purchase this CD at CD Baby and other places where CD’s and digital downloads are sold.


Oh Holy Night by Jackie Evancho

O Holy Night is the official debut Christmas EP by American child singer Jackie Evancho. The album was released on November 16, 2010, only two months after Evancho rose to prominence as a finalist on the reality TV show America’s Got Talent. Evancho was ten years old when this EP was released. O Holy Night debuted at #2 on the Billboard 200 with 239,000 copies sold in its first week and sold 142,000 copies in its second week. Disc one consist of four songs including Silent Night, Oh Holy Night, Pie Jesu, and Panis Angelicus. Disc two is a DVD of a song she recorded on you tube for her audition and four performances on America’s Got Talent such as Time To Say Goodbye, Ave Maria and much more.  This is a great album to add to your Christmas music library.


Extravergine by Micheal Castaldo

Extravergine is a Christmas album recorded by Italian tenor Micheal Castaldo released November 15, 2011 on the Vital Records label. This Christmas album was well performed as all these great classics are sung in Italian and well recorded. This twelve track album contains such great works as O Holy Night, Little Drummer Boy, What Child is This, Oh Come All Ye Faithful and so much more.  This is a Christmas Album you want to add to your library.


Winter Symphony by Jennifer Thomas

Winter Symphony is the 4th studio album by multi award winning American pianist, violinist, composer, performing artist, and recording artist Jennifer Thomas. This 12 track Christmas album this album was released on 20 November 2015 on the Tickled Ivory Music label.  The great cuts on this album are Carol Of The Bells, Alleluia, Ice Dance, Silent Night and my favorite cut is O Holy Night.  If you are looking for a great album to listen to during this Holiday season, I would highly recommend this one.


Maksim Greatest by Maksim Mrvica

This is my review of Greatest Maksim is the eighth studio album by Maksim MrvicaCroatian pianist who plays classical crossover musicEMI released the album on 23 March 2008. Ever since I saw his video on you tube playing Somewhere in Time, I knew I had to get this album. I like his style of playing and his arrangements of various songs.  In addition to the title I just mentioned this album contains such great tracks such as Croatian Rhapsody, Flight of the Bumblebee, a great cover of Queens big hit Bohemian Rhapsody and much more.  I recommend this album for anyone that is a fan of great piano music.


Labyrinth by Anora

This is my review of the Labyrinth by classical crossover artist Anora. This 13 track CD has great tracks that was well arranged and performed.  The first song that really caught my eye was The Final Countdown which was originally recorded by the rock band Europe.  I love how she took a rock song and made it totally hers.  Other great tracks on this album are Fantasy, the title track Labyrinth, Wayfaring Stranger, When the Children Cry which as originally recorded by the rock band White Lion, Fly With Me which is Anora’s original and first composition and much more.  I recommend you listen to this album. You can purchase this album on itunes, Amazon, and www.Anoramusic.com. Also at https://anora.bandcamp.com and http://www.cdbaby.com/m/cd/anora2