Unbroken by Krissy Nicks

Unbroken is the February 2017 album by singer-songwriter Krissy Nicks.  From start to finish I enjoyed the quality of her voice.  This album also has great instrumentation.  My favorite tracks of this eleven track album were Beauty, Dungeon, Aim For The Fences, Don’t Judge and Broken Wing.  This album was well written, performed, and recorded.  This is an album worth checking out.  You can buy this album on Amazon, CD Baby and everywhere else that CD’s and digital downloads is available.

Photo Jan 16, 9 27 49 PM


Here We Are by John and Judy Rodman

Here We Are is the 2015 album by country duo John and Judy Rodman released on the Rivermoon Records label. This album is a mixture of classical and contemporary country. I had not heard of this artist till some turned me onto a video by Judy.  After over thirty years of work as solo artists, this is their first album as a duo.  I was impressed by Judy’s voice and how well these two work together.  This seven track album has such great tracks as Somethin’ Like That, Something Bad, There You Are, and You Want It Back.  This album was well written, performed, recorded and produced.  I recommend this album to any country music fan.  You can purchase this album at Amazon, CD Baby, Itunes and everywhere where CD’s and Digital Downloads are sold.


Unplugged by Hank and Eddie

My 479th review is a great acoustic album called Unplugged by Hank and Eddie. This album is quite good. This 2017 release starts off the some great Spanish flamingo guitar playing on the song Vertigo and goes into some great songs such as Falling Into Pieces, In Your Garden, Say Goodbye, We Are Tommorrow (which also had the Spanish feel) and much more.  I am very impressed on how well this album was written, performed and recorded.  This definitely an album you need to check out.  You can find this album on CD Baby and Iheart.



Ten Cent Tour by The Empty Pockets

I never heard of Empty Pockets before until my wife saw a posting on facebook that they were giving away this album for the cost of postage, so I said to myself “what is there to lose other than the cost of postage”.  So I ordered a copy of the album Ten Cent Tour and I was surprised with the sound of this album.  It had a great mixture of blues, Americana, and country.  The tracks that impressed me was You Know I Do, Tractor Song, I Hear Your Voice, Travelin’ Song and much more.  I was impressed with the harmonies and the instrumentation of this album.  This album was well written, performed, recorded and produced.  This great piece of work was released in June 2015 on the MT Pockets Inc. label and I looking forward to hearing more from this band.  You can get this album on Amazon, Itunes, CD Baby and on their website http://www.theemptypockets.com.


Not Out Of Time by Birdseed

Since I returned to the music review world after a twenty-year sabbatical, I have reviewed 460 CD’s and for the first time, I am reviewing an independent album on vinyl, which I love very much since I am old school and love listening to vinyl.  Not Out Of Time is a limited edition 10” vinyl EP by the American rock band Birdseed.  This album will be released worldwide online and in stores on August 4, 2017, on the Bird Records LLC label.  This album has such great vocals and instrumentation.  Among my favorite tracks on this album were More Than I Needed The Truth, I Want You To Know and We Can Do It.  I feel this album can do well on the rock and country music charts.  I highly recommend this album to anyone’s record library.


Picking Up The Pieces by Jewel

Picking Up the Pieces is the twelfth studio album from American singer-songwriter Jewel, released on September 11, 2015, through Sugar Hill Records.  This release features new material as well as songs Jewel has been playing live since the mid-nineties but never recorded.  This album spawned two great duets It Doesn’t Hurt Right Now with Rodney Crowell and My Fathers Daughter with Dolly Parton, as well as such great tracks as Love Used To Be, Family Tree, Here When Gone, Plain Jane and much more.  Her voice was still as strong on this twelfth release as she was on her first album.  Jewel decided to produce this album and did a great job as well as performance and recording.  Any fan of Jewel will want to add this album to their library.



Stranger To Stranger by Paul Simon

Stranger to Stranger is the thirteenth solo studio album by American folk rock singer-songwriter Paul Simon released on June 3, 2016 through the Concord Records label.  This album is an experimental album that was heavy with African woodwinds.  Among the great tracks on this album are The Werewolf, Wristband, The Riverbank (was inspired by a teacher that Simon personally knew who was slain in the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting in December 2012. It also takes root in a visit Simon made to wounded veterans at Walter Reed Hospital), the title track Stranger to Stranger and much more.  This album was well written, recorded and produced by Paul Simon and Roy Halee.


All I Ever See In You Is Me by Jillette Johnson

All I Ever See In You Is Me is the sophomore release by Nashville based and New York bred singer/songwriter Jillette Johnson.  Jillette has a unique sound that is not found in other artists.  This eleven track album spawned such great songs as Love Is Blind, In Repair, I’m Sorry, Holiday and much more.  This album was well written, performed and recorded and will be released on Rounder Records on July 28th.  I am looking forward to hearing her debut album Water In A Whale.


The Way I’m Livin’ by Lee Ann Womack

The Way I’m Livin’ is the eighth studio album by American country music recording artist Lee Ann Womack. The album was released via Sugar Hill Records on September 23, 2014.  It spawned three singles the title track The Way I’m Living, Send It On Down, and Chances Are.  Other noteworthy tracks are Out For The Weekend, Sleeping With The Devil, Not Forgotten You and more. Her voice is as strong as it was when she recorded her major hit in 2000 I Hope You Can Dance.  This album was well written, recorded and produced.  This is a must add to your country music library.


Winter Birds by Chris Watkins and The Drunk Poets.

Winter Birds is a 2013 album by Alaska based artist Chris Watkins and The Drunk Poets. This album has great acoustic guitar and vocals.  In this two disc set, the first disc is all instrumental. On disc two there are such great tracks as Las Vegas From The Air, Panama Suit, Winter Birds, Irregular War, In Case Of Emergency, Terra Incognito and much more.  This album was well written, performed and recorded.  This album is available at Amazon, Discogs and other locations.