Volume One by The New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers

The New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers originated back in January 2008 when musician brothers Luther & Cody Dickinson sat down for a guitar jam with ex-Squirrel Nut Zippers leader Jimbo Mathus along with Blues Greats Charlie Musselwhite, Alvin Youngblood Hart and the late Memphis pianist, producer and all-around musical stylist Jim Dickinson (who passed away in the summer of 2009) gathered for a self-described ”hardcore blues” recording under the group name of the New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers.  This compilation is volume one of a two-volume collection with the first 10 tracks will be available finally on September 4, 2020, on Stony Plain Records, with the next 11 songs coming in spring 2021 on Volume 2. Volume One features such great tracks as Blues, Why You Worry Me, Night Time, K.C. Moan, Shake It And Break It, Stop And Listen and so much more.  I was quite moved by the performance on this album as well as the great songwriting talent and a superb recording.  This is an exceptional addition to your blues music library which will be available from Amazon, Walmart, Spotify, and all other outlets where CDs and digital downloads are sold.  In closing, I want to thank Mark Pucci of Mark Pucci Media for turning me on to this fine album.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s