2002-2013 by Seether

Seether: 2002-2013 is a two-disc compilation album by the South African rock band Seether, which was released on October 29, 2013 through Wind-up Records. The first disc comprises the band’s well-known songs and singles such as Driven UnderTonight and much more while the second disc comprises of a new single, a cover of Veruca Salt’s song Seether, the song after which the band is named,  plus unreleased demos, B-sides, and soundtrack songs from great films as Freddy Vs Jason, Daredevil and others.  The hit Rise Above This was written after lead singer Shaun Morgan’s brother Eugene’s first suicide attempt and sadly, just before his second attempt, which was fatal, and his brother never got to hear it. He poured his soul into this hit song, which has been an anthem for suicide awareness.  This album also includes the great cover of the George Michael song Careless Whisper and a new single Weak.  This is one of the bands I was turned on to by my wife since normally I am a classic rock lover of 60’s and 70’s but I have learned to get into music by later artists.  I was very impressed on how well this collection was written, performed, recorded and produced.  I recommend this album to anyone’s music collection.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s